back to
Intakt Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    You will get the CD-booklet (as PDF-file) with liner notes and photos as bonus, if you buy the whole album.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $9.80 USD  or more


Just in Time 03:09
Composition: Jerome Kern
Reflections 05:20
Secret Love 03:24
Yesterdays 06:09


Intakt CD 227

On the second CD on Intakt Records with his own band Tom Rainey surprises with standards like Dave Brubeck's «In Your Own Sweet Way», Thelonious Monk's «Reflections», Duke Ellington's «Prelude to a Kiss».

Tom Rainey has played in bands with Tim Berne and Craig Taborn, and his own trio with Ingrid Laubrock and Mary Halvorson. For this new ensemble he chose some of the finest players New York has to offer.

Kevin Whitehead writes in the liner notes: «Within those forms, it's all fluid: density, dynamics, the focus shifting from one player to another, without the others getting out of the way, exactly. The players are pretty scrupulous about minding those forms. Melodic variation is the heart of their method – they acknowledge the changes, but are very much playing the tune not just the frame, making five-way counterpoint coherent. Think of the collective improvisations as multiple obbligatos, responses to a silent theme.»



released January 15, 2014

Ralph Alessi: Trumpet
Ingrid Laubrock: Saxophones
Kris Davis: Piano
Drew Gress: Bass
Tom Rainey: Drums

1. Just in Time (Jule Styne)
2. In Your Own Sweet Way (Dave Brubeck)
3. Long Ago and Far Away (Jerome Kern)
4. Reflections (Thelonious Monk)
5. Secret Love (Sammy Fain)
6. Prelude to a Kiss (Duke Ellington)
7. Yesterdays (Jerome Kern)
8. If I Should Lose You (Ralph Rainger)
9. You Don't Know What Love Is (Gene de Paul)
10. Just in Time Again (Jule Styne)

Recorded at Systems Two, Brooklyn, by Joe Marciano, February 28, 2013. Mixed by Katherine Miller. Mastered by Andrew Tulloch, London, July 26, 2013. Liner notes: Kevin Whitehead. Cover art: Christine Reifenberger. Graphic design: Jonas Schoder. Produced by Tom Rainey and Intakt Records, Patrik Landolt


all rights reserved



Tom Rainey New York, New York

contact / help

Contact Tom Rainey

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Obbligato, you may also like: